Moving to Uni On a Budget

Hello, my Call Girls!

As many of you know from my last post and a few posts before, I’m in Uni AND moved out of my parents house. As you can imagine, there was a major conflict of living at home and commuting, or living on campus. Well, my school decided this for me. Had I chosen to commute, I wuld have lost $10,000 in scholarships. NOT AN OPTION when you’re paying for your schooling by yourself. I also had to do all of my school dorm shopping by myself (although Ean came along with me). Again, this was a major struggle even with my minimum wage job at 40 hours a week and a loving boyfriend willing to help which I, politely, declined.

Enough jibber-jabber! All in all, my dorm shopping was less than $90 and I got some great stuff. I’ll try to include pictures of everything if I can, but unfortunately a lot of this stuff is no longer on Walmart’s website.

*DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT INCLUDING MY LAPTOP IN HERE, THOUGH I DID BUY IT MYSELF AND SPECIFICALLY FOR SCHOOL. I WILL DO A REVIEW ON IT AT A LATER TIME*

 

  1. BED SHEETS
    • Now, I didn’t go crazy and buy a whole bed set. I had one at my old house that my mom unexpectedly brought to me before I moved in, but before she brought it to me I went to Walmart and bought a simple black fitted bottom sheet for about $9. I bought the full and wish I had bought the twin, because my bed set is twin sized and it’s actually too big for my dorm bed, so the full will be WAY too big!
    • I also bought a blanket and this was my splurge item. It’s soooooo soft, and I based my whole room’s colors off this blanket. It was $18 and is a microfiber plush dark blue blanket with white, coral, and teal mandala patterns on it. Ohio winters get very cold very fast, and it’s always good to have an extra blanket on hand when you need it.
  2. SHOWER SUPPLIES
    • Now, I’m not going to include my body washes or anything like that because you can get what you want. Bath and Body Works had a buy 3 get 3 free sale (AND THEY STILL DO) and so I got 3 body washes while Ean got 2 body washes and a lotion.
    • I bought a teal plastic shower caddy from Walmart for only 97 cents! Why spend a ton when you don’t have to?
  3. STORAGE
    • For storage, I bought two things at Walmart. I got a dark blue rolling drawer storage cart for $8, which sits in the corner between my closet and bed with my makeup in the top, shower stuff in the middle, and miscellaneous stuff in the bottom like my camera and safe.
    • I also got a simple black plastic drawer divider that just separates your pencils, paper clips, sticky notes, and the like.
    • I bought a small white mesh hamper for $3, a small white trash can for 97 cents, and a pack of plastic coral clothes hangers for $5
  4. MISCELLANEOUS
    • As just some random items, I got a coral pink mirror from Walmart for $5, and a small dark blue USB fan from Sutherlands. The fan was also a splurge at $15, but I got a 10% off employee discount. If you can, ALWAYS shop where you work. It’s not embarrassing and the discounts are definitely worth it.
    • I also got two simple black towels, a bath towel and a face/hand towel, for a combined price of $5.

 

All in all, dorm shopping doesn’t have to be expensive. No one is asking you to buy the Egyptian cotton towels, the Victoria’s Secret Pink bed set, or the overpriced vintage mirror in your local antiques store. It’s ALWAYS okay to splurge on something! But just remember, not everything can be a splurge item, otherwise it’s not a splurge. Make sure you find something worth the money and that you’ll use for a long time.

 

Keep Calling ❤

Leave a Reply

